PFSense via LDAP or Radius to UCS

Hi@all,

I want to use the OpenVPN server on the PFSense
Simple configuration: RoadWarrior -> WAN -> LAN

In PFSense I have the possibility to get the users via LDAP or radius from another server. UCS offers both. What is the easiest to set up?

The LDAP-Connector has many options I have never used before:

grafik
grafik

Wo bekomme ich die Parameter für eine UCS-Anbindung her?

Beste Grüße
sven

Hi Sven

I initially planned on using RADIUS-provided client parameters with OpenVPN but for the moment I’m not due to the following issues discussed in pfSense pull request #4026.

RADIUS actually works, however LDAP is what you get out of the box with UCS without additional services. Though, if you do 802.1x or a secure WiFi network, you might already use the RADIUS feature.

Here are some hints after comparing it against my system:

• Hostname: (the FQDN must be resolvable by your pfSense, i.e. ucs-master.example.org)
  • Port: 7389 (specific to UCS)
  • Transport: TCP - STARTTLS
    • Check that both pfSense and UCS should have NTP time servers configured, can be a source of issues with (START)TLS.
  • Peer Certificate Authority:
    • Get the UCS root CA certificate via the UCS Web UI,
    • Import it using System > Cert. Manager > CAs,
    • Then you can select it here in the Dropdown menu.
  • Protocol version: 3 (default)
  • Search scope: Entire Subtree (unless you don’t have any OUs AFAIK)
  • Base DN: Can be identified using ‘ucr get ldap/base’, i.e. dc=example,dc=org)
  • Auth containers: Important in large directories (if the connection works after saving it first, use “Select a container”
  • Bind anonymous: Disable it.
  • Bind credentials: Create an unprivileged user in UCS, obtains its DN using i.e. univention-ldapsearch -LL uid= (i.e. uid=svc.fwauth,cn=users,dc=example,dc=org), enter the password
  • User attribute: uid
  • Group attribute: cn
  • Group membership attribute: memberOf (requires said overlay)