Windows-compatible Memberserver fails after reboot

I have a small PC running as a primary domain controller and a larger storage server configured as member server that only gets turned on when needed. Its only normally required a few times a week so there is no point burning the energy for the rest of the time.

I have the windows compatible member server app running on the storage server and 5 or 6 shares configured. This all works fine after first configuration, however then the server is powered cycled, the support for the windows shares disappears. Windows clients fail to connect to the shares and report “The remote device or resource wont accept the connection”

Looking in systemctl I have one service that has failed “rpc-svcgssd” and the smbd service appears to be running.

Uninstalling the “Windows-compatible Memberserver” app and reinstalling, brings everything back to life again.

I am relatively new to this system and any suggestions as to the cause of this would be gratefully received.

Thanks for your help

[update 1]
After some work I have discovered that I can solve this problem (at least until reboot) by loging into the server and restarting the smbd service. This is despite the service saying that it is running happily before I restart it.

Unfortunately, looks like I am going have to give up on this.
After a week of trying, it would appear that it is not possible for me to connect my UCS member server to a UCS primary domain controller and share folders to windows users without going in and restarting the smbd service every time a reboot happens.

This is a shame as it looked such a good solution. I have run out of ideas of things to try; so reluctantly I am moving on from UCS to try and find another solution.

For future reference by others this is the problem…

One PC configured with UCS as a AD domain controller. This works fine and provides all of the features and functionality expected. This is a small machine that is left on permanently.