Univention on Kubernetes / Docker .yml -file

Hey there

As I’m new to Docker and want to try out Univention on a public Kubernetes-Cloud, could someone share a .yml -file which is compatible with https://hub.docker.com/r/univention/ucs-master-amd64?

UCS is a little unusual as a Docker container, because it’s by design more of a full fledged VM than a throw-away container. It boots into a state where packages are installed, but the domain has not been joined - an uninitialized (and thus not yet useful) state.
The setup is usually interactive, but can be automated. In any case - it takes a lot of time. (There seems to be a problem with the bind service that I haven’t figured out yet, so it takes 45min for me.)
At the end of the setup you’ll have a updated and joined UCS master, that can be used like a VM. Only then will you want to use it. So you’ll have to wait for it. I wrote a little Dockerfile plus a service to achieve my goal (update the system, install a software, run it, write the result to a volume and shutdown).

Here is the Dockerfile:

FROM univention/ucs-master-amd64:latest
COPY ucs_* /tmp/
RUN mv -v /tmp/ucs_profile /var/cache/univention-system-setup/profile && \
    mv -v /tmp/ucs_join.sh /usr/local/sbin/ucs_join.sh && \
    mv -v /tmp/ucs_join.service /etc/systemd/system/ucs_join.service && \
    chmod -v 755 /usr/local/sbin/ucs_join.sh && \
    systemctl enable ucs_join.service

This is ucs_profile:

windows/domain="UCS"
ssl/locality="DE"
locale/default="de_DE.UTF-8:UTF-8"
server/role="domaincontroller_master"
locale="de_DE.UTF-8:UTF-8 en_US.UTF-8:UTF-8"
hostname="master"
ssl/state="DE"
ssl/organization="Uni Test GmbH"
ad/member="False"
domainname="ucs.intranet"
update/system/after/setup="True"
components=""
organization="Uni Test GmbH"
timezone="Europe/Berlin"
ssl/email="ssl@ucs.intranet"
ldap/base="dc=ucs,dc=intranet"
ssl/organizationalunit="Univention Corporate Server"
root_password="univention"

This is ucs_join.service:

[Service]
Type=oneshot