New Instalation after update

nextcloud

#1

Hello Community,

after an update Nextcloud appears as a new installation. All my settings are gone. Is there a way to restore them? Thanks for your help!

Greetings Ari


#2

Nobody here who had this problem too?


#3

Hello @ari1105p,
one of my users reported a similar behaviour on a test system. But when he logged in Nextcloud asked if it should re-import the users data. Since that went ok I did not investigate any further.
BR,
Jörn

Edit: corrected a typo


#4

Ok, thank you Jörn for your info. Unfortunately i was not asked.

regards Ari


#5

Well, obviously, that should not happen, and did not happen in our tests. Sorry that you encountered this.

Can you provide the Appcenter logs from the upgrade?


#6

Here, https://bit.ly/2Oi9e89 are all logs from the affected updates. Maybe you find something. All data under /var/lib/univention-appcenter/apps/nextcloud/data/nextcloud-data where erased. But it was my mistake too, because i forgot to backup the files. Lesson learned.:disappointed:


#7

hi I just endup in same sh*t :frowning: I realy can’t understand how upgrade of docker image can cause removal od hundreds GB in data store where data should be persistent? any idea ?


#8

As blizzz wrote, “that should not happen” and since today I don´t know why it happend on my system. My conclusion from this issue, backup all your data before update(database and files).


#9

hi,
as I mentioned here Nextcloud Upgrade endup with all data lost this is bloody hell poor integration of upgrade script which can execute uninstall with auto confirmation of user data deletion… I just finished wit carving my 2.2TB partition and now during long winter I’ll be sorting them again :confused: but benefit is that I’m sure I’ll see pictures I didn’t for ages :slight_smile:


#10

@ari1105p I missed the notification. Could you make the logs available again, please?


#11

Here it is again https://bit.ly/2r3rHvI . Thanks for your efforts


#12

I get a service unavailable, unfortunately.

For the 14 series, next release, I changed the uninstall process to keep the data. Removing them will take manual steps. So this scenario will not repeat in future.