Looking for Advice on Univention Deployment and Best Practices

Hey everyone,

I am currently working on a project that involves deploying Univention Corporate Server (UCS), and I am pretty new to the platform. I’d love to get some advice or suggestions from those who have experience with it. Specifically, I am trying to figure out:

1. Best practices for deploying UCS in a small to mid-sized environment.
  2. Any tips for integrating UCS with other systems like Microsoft AD or cloud services.
  3. Security configurations you recommend out of the box.
  4. Any useful tools or add-ons that I should know about to enhance the experience.

And for the same I have been through these articles/resources UCS Installation and Commissioning – A Step by Step Guide Salesforce CPQ Interview Questions that are quite informative. But I would love to hear more from the community members.

Would love to hear about any gotchas, lessons learned, or tools you’ve found useful while working with UCS! Thanks in advance for your help!

Cheers.

Hi @henryclark,

After good few months on this forum and working with UCS in my domain I must say that post covering all four points would be almost a holly grail :wink:

There’s lots of information within this forum; yes, scattered and fragmented but covers a lot of what you will need. Search first before you ask, sometimes it takes awfully long to get an answer from forum members.

To answer some of your questions:

1. Play with the installer, don’t install and assume it is all fine.
  2. Plan storage (LVM configuration) much easier to do this before you have a deployed controller in a domain.
  3. Plan your network (incl vlans, IP etc)
  4. Look at Certificate Authority settings BEFORE you deploy any certificates to the network.
  5. Register your server (get the licence) before trying to install any software, this will actually make the App centre operational.