Howto: UCS, Groupware (Kopano) and freemail accounts

Hello,

first I would like to thank Univention and Kopano for their turnkey groupware solution.

These are my (short) notes from memory configuring UCS 4.4 and Kopano (any other groupware solution should work, too) for users who use “freemail” e-mail addresses for a small home setup. You don’t need an own domain and the server doesn’t have to be exposed to the internet.

I would like to know whether this configuration interferes with any UCS guidelines/rules or anything is missing for a future proof setup (e.g. major upgrades). This is my first try using UCS to replace my existing Debian/Zarafa setup.

These instructions describe a setup for three freemail accounts using two different providers. Do not enter the freemail domains in UCS as a mail domain.

First install the following apps using the app center:

• Fetchmail
  • Kopano Core (or another groupware)
  • Kopano Webapp
  • Kopano Z-Push

Configure receiving mails:

• Add the three user accounts using the UMC, enter the freemail address as the primary e-mail account
  • Configure fetchmail by opening the extended configuration from all the three user accounts
  • Send an e-mail from external clients to these accounts and wait up to 20 minutes until the e-mails appear in Kopano

Sending mails:

Add the following lines to /etc/postfix/main.cf.local (not main.cf):

sender_dependent_relayhost_maps = hash:/etc/postfix/relaymap
smtp_sender_dependent_authentication = yes

smtp_sasl_auth_enable = yes
smtp_sasl_password_maps = hash:/etc/postfix/sasl_passwords
smtp_sasl_security_options = noanonymous

transport_maps = hash:/etc/postfix/transport

Activate changes:
ucr commit /etc/postfix/main.cf

Define freemailer smtp relays, create the file /etc/postfix/relaymap

@freemail1.de smtp.freemail1.de
@freemail2.de smtp.freemail2.de

Create hashfile:
postmap /etc/postfix/relaymap