How to combine users from company's LDAP and manually added

Dear all,

I am new to UCS, running 4.3-3 errata410, and I would like setup system, so it will combine users from our company’s LDAP (read-only) and manually added users from outside of company.

I have got these details from our IT and I am not sure where should I enter them, preferably using UCS UI:

• server address: ldap.fnusa.cz,
  • port: 389 or using TLS port (ldaps) port: 636
  • User DN: ou=users,dc=fnusa,dc=cz username attribute: uid
  • filter: (accessto=icrc-is)

I went through UCS documentation and Univention help but I haven’t found the answer. Btw. I have limited experience with setting up servers and our IT limited user-friendliness:)

Thank you very much for any suggestions.

Jan

Hi,

simply: you can’t.

You can have UCS as part of an ActiveDirectory domain (which is, at least partially, LDAP). But not out of the box of a native OpenLDAP.

/CV

Hi @Christian_Voelker ,
would it be possible with UCS to create a separate domain and establish a domain trust?

@jvorisek, would be good to know a little bit more about the intended use case.
What would you like to use UCS for?

BR,
Jörn

As far as I know you can establish a domain trust between UCS and AD but not between two LDAPs. See Blog.

/CV

Thank you @Christian_Voelker and @jolentes for your help.

I think that it very good idea to describe our use case as you guys may have some clever suggestion and my knowledge of LDAP/AD is limiting to zero:)

We are clinical research centre and part of university hospital. Hospital IT doesn’t have ActiveDirectory and is running OpenLDAP.

Our research centre consists of employees of our hospital and also researchers from all around the world.

For better cooperation within teams (research and admins) we would like to give them tools for better collaboration.

We found UCS as perfect tool, because of central management of users for all software solutions installed through UCS.