Help setting up email with Open-Xchange

First post on this forum and first-time cloud server manager. Not an IT professional by trade, so please take that into consideration while reading.

I was trying to setup a mailing server for my company on my UCS server with OpenXchange. I got the Open-Xchange part working for the cloud stuff, storage and collaborative documents all work fine, and I can also send emails from the server to an external address without issue and with the correct domain extension. So all of that works just fine.

The problem is when I go to send mail from an external address to the server, the mail never arrives. I have tried to look into putting an MX record in with my domain provider (GoDaddy) but after several combinations of that, along with A records, I still am not able to get the mail to send across. I am not sure where to go from here, I have exhausted all of what I can think of on google to search for an answer to this.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much in advance!

I am still looking for assistance with this. No one has reached out about this yet and I have tried several other things. Still can send email out from the UCS server, but it never arrives when sent from the outside. This tells me it’s a thing with the MX records in my Domain hoster. I have set the MX record to forward to my IP, but I still do not get anything in.

Looking forward to any help on this. Thank you.

Usually emails will not get lost, in case of a misconfiguration you will get a bounce message. This message will contain useful hints about the problem. In case you do not get such notifications the message is delivered somewhere. The question is: where?
There should be an explanation how to configure MX records at GoDaddys, in general it needs an A record to point to. This means that your UCS needs to have an A record in the public DNS as well.